4 Steps to a Great Night…Or Not

Oh what a night I had last night. It was entertaining, surprising, and unique. I’m still trying to figure out if it was any fun. Either way it was a night to remember in downtown Vancouver.

Step 1: The Thunder Storm
One thing I was really missing that Winnipeg and Miami had in common was a good thunder storm. For a city that is known for it’s rain, Vancouver sure doesn’t have many of these. But true to form, the view from our downtown highrise sure was spectacular. The sky lit up with lightening and rumbled with the sound of thunder, taking me back to some of my favorite summer nights back home.

Step 2: The Fireworks
Now, another benefit of living so close to English Bay is that we can see the Symphony of Lights Fireworks straight from our apartment. Think Canada Day time 5 with epic music blasting and you have a wicked display. So immediately after the thunderstorm let up the fireworks started filling the sky with booming cracks and bright lights. It was awesome!

Step 3:The Scene of the Accident The Accident
Here’s where the night turns surprising. At 3:00 am, I wake up to the sound of a big thud and glass breaking. As I look out the window I see a car had smashed into an apartment window across the street from my building. Trying to figure out what happened I sat and watched the ‘action’ from above for about 30 minutes. I never really did figure out what happened. My guess was a drunk driver though.

Step 4: The Fire Alarm
Immediately after the tow truck finishes filling downtown with amazingly loud screeches while taking away the car from Step 3, the fire alarm in our building went off, causing a flurry of confused apartment dwellers (including me) to fill the streets in front of our building while watching the fire department douse a flame on a fourth floor apartment. After this sleeping became an issue as I stayed up until about 5:30 am.

Needless to say this was an eventful night. I’m not sure whether I liked it or not – certainly could have used more sleep, but it was definitely a weird coincidence I won’t forget. The bottom line is that if you can stand the noice, living downtown is always eventful.

