Being Productive Rocks!

Today was a good day. After waking up at 6:30 in the morning, I went to work developing my business. Making phone calls (it was 9:30 on the east coast), and sending emails, I realized that you have to really work to get things done.

Not that I haven’t worked hard before. In fact, I can’t even remember a day I didn’t work more than 10 hours on my work. But now I’m actually seeing the results. I mention the hard work because it’s something a lot of people overlook when starting their own business.

It makes me sad every time someone I care about pitches me on a multi-level marketing ‘opportunity’. The join these groups with the promise of making millions, all the while being told that they need only invest in ‘X’ system and you’ll be loaded. What they don’t tell you is all the work it takes to get to be the millionaire at the top.

The trick is that you have to develop yourself. Develop your abilities, skills, and personal network. Remember that you can’t build a personal network if you try to sell them something all time! Also, stay motivated.

The reason 90% of most entrepreneurs fail is that they just plain old give up. Above any other factors that keep businesses from success is a lack of motivation and determination. Work hard and it will pay off in the end.

I come at this from a different perspective of course. For those who know me well, I had a business that ultimately failed. However, I don’t see it as a failure, but rather an education. By watching it lose its viability I learned valuable skills that are now paying off for me in my new venture.

Life is good and I have hard work and hardships to thank for it. Weird eh?

