A Crisis of Purpose

No one said it would be easy. Starting a business is not only hard work, but it’s a strain on everything in your life; your relationships, your bank account, and even your sanity. Last night I stayed awake for hours worrying about all the things that could come to pass in the next few months. What happens if my website doesn’t get any customers? What if my money runs out before I start making sales? These are questions that have been haunting me for a while and I’m finding it harder and harder to stay the course.

One thing that keeps me going is the resolve I’ve gained from my experiences over the past several months. I’ve been ripped off by shady developers, lied to by marketers, and had my funding pulled from under me at a crucial stage of development. It’s been a challenge just to stay motivated, nevermind alert and creative. Add to that the fact that I haven’t had a full night’s sleep in about 3 months and you’ve got yourself a recipe for insanity.

A lesser person would have given up long ago, but I’m not letting it get to me. I started this business with a purpose and I aim to complete it. Habidoo.com is going to be THE place for people to find and compare home service providers if I have to sacrifice my sanity to do it. Now I just have to shake my head a bit and get back into focus and do whatever it takes to get back in the game.

I believe that it is a part of being an entrepreneur that finds you constantly battling a crisis of purpose. You start out with visions of saving the world from monotany, then it morphs to you missing the small luxuries you had when you were making money, then it’s back to being more than driven again. I’m starting to think of it as an extended job interview for a stellar career. At the end of this long test will be the rewards you’ve sacrificed so much to achieve. All you have to do is prove that you’re worthy. I hope I am.

